Chicken Stuffed Puff Pastry

image

So my mother and I decided to bake pastries for iftaar today. I made a commitment after the dawn prayer and slept. The issue is when I sleep,  you will need an armed force to wake me up. So I slept througout the afternoon and broke my promise. (Again)

Anyway, by the time I woke up she already got all the work done.

But then I did plan to bake it, capture some pictures and then post the recipe here. So even if I didn’t cook it, I decided to go with the rest of the plan.

The credits obviously goes to my teacher, who also happens to be my mother, and a marvelous cook herself.

So let’s get on with the recipe.

image

Chicken stuffed Puff Pastry!
tsp: teaspoon, tbsp : tablespoon.

Ingredients:
1.  250 grams boneless chicken, cut into very small pieces.
2. 1/2 tsp ginger paste.
3. 1/2 tsp garlic paste
4. 1/2 tsp chilli flakes.
5. 1/2 tsp chicken tandoori masala (shaan).
6. 1/4 tsp black pepper.
7. 1 tsp hot sauce.
8. Salt to taste. (Chicken tandoori masala and hot sauce already contain salt so be careful)
9. 1 tbsp oil.
10. 1/4 tsp garam masala: it’s a mixture of ground spices specially used in South Asian cooking. If you don’t have it, don’t worry. But if you do have it, use it, will enhance the flavour.

Method Chicken:
In a fry pan add 1 tbsp oil.
Add chicken.
Add all the ingredients.
Stir and let the chicken cook.
Stir fry for 2 minutes.
Dish it out.

Puff pastry:
Preheat your oven to 150 degrees Celsius.
Grab the best quality puff pastry and fill it with the cooked chicken.
Seal your pastries anyway you like. My mom folded it diagonally giving it a triangular shape.
Whisk one egg and add a tiny amount of water.
Brush your pastries with the mixture.
(Instructions are written at the back of the packet as well)
Pop your pastries in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes.

I am a South Asian, so we love to dip our fried and baked items in green chutney. And trust me it tastes delicious!

But it’s all up to you and you can combine it with any of your favorite sauce.
Do try it and enjoy!

© All images are the properties of My Creative Hut.

Leave a Reply

